Welcome to Velo Jello!

May 7, 2008 at 7:25 pm 1 comment

Welcome to Velo Jello, a tasty blog about road cycling! I love road riding, racing, and the culture associated with it. Being out on the road, on my bike, is one of the things that greatly enriches my life.  I love the freedom, the fitness, and the energy! On this blog, you will find my stories, observations, opinions, and insights into the world of cycling. If you don’t like what you read, go ride your bike. If you do like what you read, please join the conversation (and then go ride your bike)!

Entry filed under: Velo Jello.

Broken Princes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susie, the blacksheep downstairs  |  May 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I was talking to a younger guy in my ward (late 20’s) about some of his recent mountain biking adventures. I was telling him how I never mountain bike now that I have kids, but that I have totally gotten into road riding because I can pull the kids in the trailer. He pshawed and rolled his eyes and said something derogatory about road riding. An older lady in the ward leaned over and said, “it’s a sign of your age.”

    Well, I guess we can be a couple of old farts out on the road, but at least we’ll have nice legs!

    Cycling is the first sport that I actually ENJOY. It’s not just me forcing myself to exercise so I don’t turn into a fat slob. I love to feel the wind against my skin. I love feeling in harmony with my body, getting excited to feel my muscles working. I love getting out of the saddle to climb a hill (a short hill, I’m not in that good of shape!) Mostly I just love the solitude, the time to think, or not think, just grind, depending on how I’m feeling that day.

    My goal is to someday do a century, but I’ll start with a metric century. But I don’t have a road bike yet, I’ve just been riding my mtn. bike with slicks for a few years. The longest road ride I’ve done is a 36 mile all women’s ride. As soon as we’re out of debt, a road bike is at the top of the purchase list and I’ll be signing up for at least the metric century.

    Looking forward to more bike posts- it’s good motivation for me!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 2,929 hits